CHASS Executive Committee

CHASS Executive Committee Compass

Charting the Course for the College

The CHASS Executive Committee helps guide the College in the development of curriculum and policy as well as the review and approval of new courses. The executive committee is also involed the selection of CHASS faculty award recipients. It is comprised of nine members of the CHASS Faculty, as well as the dean of the college and the associate dean of student academic affairs in ex officio positions.

Committee Membership

The Chair of the Faculty is Johannes Endres, in the Department of Psychology. Her term runs from 2018 through 2019. The committee consists of:

  • Three members from among the Departments of Art History, English, History, Comparative Literature, Foreign Languages, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Hispanic Studies, and Gender & Sexuality Studies.
    • Lucille Chia (History) 2018-2020
    • Ana Bajzelj (Religious Studies) 2018-2020
    • Mark Allen Minch (English) 2018-2020
  • Three members from among the Departments of Anthropology, Economics, Ethnic Studies, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology
    • Kelly Huffman-Neal (Psychology) 2017-2019
    • Joao Vargas (Anthropology) 2018-2020
    • Bronwyn Leebaw (Political Science) 2018-2020
  • One member from the Departments of Fine Arts [Art, Creative Writing, Dance, Music, Media & Cultural Studies, and Theatre, Film & Digital Production]
    • Jodi Kim (Media & Cultural Studies) 2018-2020
  • Two members from degree-granting non- department programs: CHASS Interdisciplinary Programs, HASS, Law & Society, and Neuroscience.
    • Paul Chang (Asian Studies) 2018-2020
    • Jody Benjamin (Global Studies) 2018-2020
  • Dean of College (ex officio): Milagros Peña
  • Associate Dean of Student Academic Affairs (ex officio): Alicia Arrizón
  • Associate Dean of Arts & Humanities (ex officio): Kiril Tomoff
  • Associate Dean of Social Sciences (ex officio): Sang-Hee Lee

Committee Bylaws

  • The chair of the faculty is elected for a two-year term and is not eligible to succeed self.
  • The Executive Committee consists of the chair of the faculty, ex officio; dean of the college ex officio; and nine members of the faculty. The term of office is two years, commencing July 1st following election at a regular election or immediately upon completion of the ballot count at a special election.
  • The chair of the faculty and four members are elected in the same year; the five other members are elected in alternate years. Members may not immediately succeed themselves.
  • Whenever the Executive Committee determines that a vacancy exists in its membership, the secretary-parliamentarian conducts an election in accordance with the prescribed procedure, provided the vacancy is expected to last more than six months. A vacancy shall be declared to exist and the member considered to have resigned if he/she anticipates an absence from the committee of more than six months. Vacancies of six months or less are filled temporarily by appointment by the chair of the faculty with the advice and consent of the executive committee.
  • The secretary-parliamentarian is chosen by the executive committee from among its membership. The term of office is one year.

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Career OpportunitiesUCR Libraries
Campus StatusDirections to UCR

College Information

College Student Academic Affairs (All Student Inquiries)
3400 Humanities & Social Sciences Bldg.

Tel: (951) 827-3683 | Fax: (951) 827-5836

College of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences
3413 Humanities & Social Sciences Bldg.